Walking through my Grandfather’s garden…before it’s too late

I walked slowly through my yard this morning with my dog.  It’s been awhile since I had a moment to myself.  I’m always rushing and sometimes I’m so busy or preoccupied that I do not always notice things on the sidelines.  I stress myself out so much between work, school, and family, etc. that I sometimes focus too much on the game.  Instead of focusing on the details and making as many observations as I use to, the details tend to blur together.  Part of me wonders if that’s just life, or if it’s something we buy into believing has to happen as we get older?

Walking through the yard, I realized that I’ve been so focused on working and paying off my debt that I didn’t even take time to notice parts of the garden dying.  The very parts my Grandfather planted and nurtured through the years, were slowly fading away. 

I had a different upbringing because instead of being raised by my parents, I was raised by my Grandparent’s.  My Grandfather passed away from lung cancer in January of ’96 and my Grandmother died of multiple complications in August of ’07.  Although they have passed, I still reside in their house to this day.

Last year I attempted to conquer the garden I’ve come to call “Jumanji” over the years.  With lots of time, effort, hardwork, and dedication I turned the garden around for the better.  But this year with my lack of attention, the garden has slowly been fading.  My Grandfather’s roses have bloomed less times than this exact time last summer and his Pegonias have a plant disease.  I only hope I can reverse the ill effects before it’s too late.

I’ll be posting an update on the situation very soon.  Praying…Enjoy your morning….Love Katie

About DCKitty18

Aspiring Writer & Photographer, currently pursuing my dream of my own business. Add my personal page on Facebook: www.facebook.com/DCKitty or you can also find my pictures & writing on Facebook: www.facebook.com/PassionateFocus.MKO or see more of my photography at: www.flickr.com/PassionateFocus_MKO
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Walking through my Grandfather’s garden…before it’s too late

  1. twilightrose19 says:

    Really really late comment, but I hope it helps. 🙂

    You know, it helps to sometimes stop and smell the flowers. That garden represents you, and you keep focusing on your everyday tasks, but you shouldn’t forget to have time for yourself, to reflect on life and what you’re missing out on by paying too mch attention to your busy sched.
    It’s never too late to revive the garden and bloom again. 🙂

    • dckitty18 says:

      I’ve been meaning to re-write my reply to you. I tried via my cell phone but it never submitted. When I received your comment I had just woken up. And I can honestly say I love the way you interpreted my writing. Most of all because I have engulfed myself so much in work that I sometimes forget to take time for myself or to relax or enjoy everyday moments. Sometimes I feel like I am peddling on a bike up hill. Sometimes I’m so busy concentrating on working my legs on the climb, struggling to get to the stop, that I often forget to keep my eye on the horizon or to enjoy the sites along the way. You are very right and no matter how much we think we take enough time for ourselves, it always pays to stop, take a deep breath, and take in every moment. Thank you very much for your insight and kind words. It has helped me more than you know. Thank you for taking a moment to reach out to me. I hope all is well. Have a blessed day 🙂

      -Love Katie

Leave a Reply

