Do you ever contemplate the difference you can make in another’s life?

Do you ever contemplate the difference you can make in another’s life?  I’m not just talking about the effect of your presence in their life everyday or the type of bond or connection that you share.  I am talking about actually making a difference and changing their life in maybe the biggest or most minimal way.

I went out walking late last night and as I walked I don’t know if it was the fresh air, but thoughts were flowing quicker and clearer.  As I was walking through the neighborhoods I saw run down bikes and beat up cars.  I mean cars that weren’t new with dents or aestheitic damage, but damage that needed definite fixing or repairing.  Sometimes I wish if I had enough money or were rich enough so that I could help people out unexpectedly.  I’d help people, I’d help friends, best friends, acquaintances, strangers, or even strangers I’d met in passing or just heard about through someone else.

I don’t know if I’m the only one but whenever I’m out and about in the world, especially when I come into contact with others more so strangers, I’m always curious about them.  If you could listen to the magnitude of thoughts that pass through my head in a mere few minutes per person, you would definitely be intrigued.  I have a habit of questioning who a person is, what their story is, where they are from, what they’ve been through, what struggles they have overcome, what they aspire to be in life, or even what they want out of life or to obtain both personally and in the career world.  I often wonder what their day or days are like and what each one holds or contains for them.  I wonder what they are currently dealing with or what burden(s) they are carrying.  I even wonder what has made them sad or cry, or even smile today… or even recently.  Sometimes I even wonder what it would be like to be on the other end of that smile.  I wonder what is it like to see his/her various smiles through the eyes of their family, friends, significant others, acquaintances, co-workers, admirers, or even strangers.  What does it feel like as that person to make them smile or to see his/her smile?  What difference does their smile make in someone’s life?

Sometimes I wonder if levels of compatibility, or whatever weird systems and odd check lists we have in our heads and ingrained into our societal ways, were cosmically right just once to experience whatever you wish to be compatible with the other person for.  Basically if you were given a chance you wouldn’t normally be given what would it be like?  Let me explain.  When you meet people sometimes right away or down the road you know who will be a good friend, who will be a good person to carry on a conversation with, who is a good person to ask for advice, you even know who you can’t stand talking to or who annoys you in a matter of minutes, etc. and so on and so forth.  We often know these things in a matter of meeting someone, sometimes first impressions tell all while other times we are wrong in our impressions and ways of thinking.  We learn this when situations or circumstances change unexpectedly.  For example the days where you wouldn’t have talked to that person in greater depth if say your car hadn’t broken down or if you two didn’t get partnered together for a project, etc.

I can’t help but wonder the most random things about people.  Sometimes I wonder what it’d be like to be someone’s friend or to actually hold a deep conversation with them.  I mean what if you were one of the rare people whose compatibility matched up and equaled the measurement of someone who would be able to have a good, long, deep conversation with them.  I’m always curious about people’s lives.  Where have they been? What have they seen?  What have they accomplished?  Where do they come from?  Where are they headed in life?  Amongst a million other questions yearning to be answered in my mind.

When I use to take the bus and metro all the time, I always met the most interesting people.  It was always the older ones that had the most interesting stories or things to say.  Sometimes it was funny because if I was going through a tough situation in my life or I was having trouble solving different problems, I often ran into a stranger who would tell me a story similar to my situation.  Call it weird coincidence, fate, or divine intervention…call it what you may, but it happened to me alot.  Who knows maybe I just read into things too deeply, but listening to a stranger always helped to ease my mind and often helped me figure out my problems.

Interactions throughout my whole life with various types of people has always intrigued me and ignited my curiousity. Growing up, I was always the type of person who was genuinely caring or always extremely helpful. My family always told me that nothing was impossible as long as you believed and worked hard to achieve it. No matter what types of discouragement you encountered. Ever since I was a little girl, I had always wanted to change the world and make a difference. If even only in a minimal way.

I’m deciding to take a chance and start the ripple effect today. I call it the ripple effect because once you make a splash the ripples multiply and the distance that they travel in a matter of seconds is extraordinary. I’m going to start small and then go bigger as I gain more experience. I want you dear reader to do the same. Find a way to make a difference. Even if it’s small, give someone a compliment or a word of encouragement, give someone a ride, help out a family member or a friend, or even help a neighbor. Whatever makes you smile, put an idea into action and just follow your heart. You’ll know you have the right idea by the reaction of the receiver. But sometimes the best way to be giving and generous is anonymously. Sometimes it’s like a fun little game where no one can figure it out, but they can’t stop thinking about the act of kindness. No matter how small or big, you have impacted their life and made a difference for the better.

My first act is for a divorcee. My family gets together for dinner every Tuesday and I was passing by the kitchen when I happened to hear a story my aunt was telling to her sisters. I don’t know what caught my attention but I couldn’t help but listen to every word. I had a bunch of things to do before work, but in this moment…nothing was more important than that story. She told a story of a close friend, his wife decided to leave him without any warning. She packed up everything one day when he was at work and took everytthing before he got home. She didn’t even leave him a plate to eat on. The man is 60 years old and what touched me the most was something he said. The man said I’m too old, my heart can’t take this and I don’t know if I can get through this or do it all over again. I felt sad for him. My aunt had nothing but good things to say about him. Which made me feel like he deserved some kindness or at least a reason to smile, even when it was pouring down rain in his life. I wanted to do something for him. I have been contemplating things for weeks. I decided to send him an anonymous card saying how highly he was thought of by someone and I thought he should know. I also sent him goodies baked with love. I’m still contemplating what else I could do. If you have any ideas please share.

Don’t forget to take a chance and change someone’s life. Keep paying it forward and passing on your love and kindness. Thanks for reading.

Sweet Dreams…
Love Katie

About DCKitty18

Aspiring Writer & Photographer, currently pursuing my dream of my own business. Add my personal page on Facebook: www.facebook.com/DCKitty or you can also find my pictures & writing on Facebook: www.facebook.com/PassionateFocus.MKO or see more of my photography at: www.flickr.com/PassionateFocus_MKO
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

