Do you ever miss someone?

image

Do you ever miss someone?  It’s something I’ve been thinking about constantly over the past few days.  The thought originated when I woke up on my Grandmother’s birthday.  But lately I have been running into a lot of people from my past.  I don’t know why recently, but it definitely makes me contemplate the very idea of missing someone and the various facets of those thoughts.

Thursday October 21st was my Grandmother’s B-Day.  She would’ve been 83 this year, but she passed away August 20th 2007.  My Grandmother was so secretive about her age, that she’s probably rolling in her grave because I publicized something she believed should be kept private.  But I miss her dearly and every year that passes since her demise makes me really treasure the time that I had w/ her those last 3 years or so.  
In 2005 she was diagnosed with breast cancer, polyps, and colon cancer.  We weren’t sure if she could handle it, or if she was strong enough to fight it.  Don’t get me wrong, that woman had one hell of a spirit.  She was fiery and full of spunk.  But we thought breast cancer or colon cancer with the polyps was either going to get her in a combo or one would be more detrimental than the other.  But she definitely shocked and amazed us and thanks to God, fought through and overcame both.

A few years later she was admitted to the hospital because she was losing blood, which is normally a sign of an infection or cancer.  She ended up having an infection but they couldn’t pin point the type of infection.  So they admitted her for an over night stay, that turned out to be a longer stay than expected.  She was also diagnosed with Pneumonia, which weakened her lungs.  Her lungs were so weak that one collapsed and they were forced to put her on respirator.  The respirator was so uncomfortable for her and because of that, her body was rejecting it.  The medical staff was forced to sedate her.  They had to keep her continuously sedated because it was for her own good to keep her alive.  After sometime her body began to fail and unfortunately her stomach began to bleed internally.  This was the day they had to take her off the respirator and one of the saddest days of my life.  I cannot forget her last breath.  She passed away August 20th, 2007 and my life has never been the same

My biggest regret is not getting to the hospital in time before they originally sedated her.  In a way I felt like I never really got the chance to say “Goodbye.”  I had just gotten out of a dance instructor class and we stopped at McDonald’s on the way to the hospital because I was hungry.  It kills me to this day because I keep going over the situation in my head and I still can’t stop contemplating how I could’ve arrived earlier than I did.  But even though it’s in the past and can’t be changed, it still haunts my thoughts.

I was lucky because I got to say “Goodbye” as we let her go off life support.  I know I should be thankful because most people don’t get the chance to be there for someone’s last moment on Earth.  But for my Grandmother, I got the chance.  I also know that some people go years without learning about another’s demise.  Be it an acquaintance, a teacher, a friend, a family member, an old flame, a lost love, or whatever they once were to someone.  The fact is at some point in time they were missed for how they made someone feel and for the type of person they were.  Someone missed their personality, or some facet of the person that they couldn’t quite let go of in their memory.

People are missed for various reasons.  Amongst these are loss, regret, fear, anger, love, sadness, pain, jealousy, and so on and so forth.  You come to realize at a point in your life that reason and cause for missing someone are often one in the same.  While other reasons are completely out of our hands and sometimes we do have “no effect” on the reason.

People often miss what they once had.  Sometimes they regret moving on, while other times it wasn’t their choice.  People believe wholeheartedly they know what they want.  But honestly people only know a mere fraction of what they want and they are often missing the rest of the puzzle pieces to complete the whole picture.  Sometimes what we want from someone or in life and what we need, are two entirely different things.  Some people don’t know what they want until it arrives.  While others regret and miss their past when they just haven’t found what they need yet.  But a person doesn’t know this until it arrives.  Some people learn this fairly quickly, while others it takes years or even an entire lifetime to learn.

I don’t know why things turn out the way they do or why we miss people for the reasons we do.  You can call it fate, divine intervention, destiny, or whatever people believe it to be.  I can’t explain it well at this point in time but it never ceases to amaze me why people blow in and out of our lives.  Or the odd coincidence that paths cross once again.  It’s funny because you can’t help but wonder why?  Sometimes we cannot see the whole web in its grand design and you can’t help but wonder the various choices or paths that could be taken.  Sometimes they are the ones less traveled, while other times they are a commonly traveled road, with lots of traffic.  Sometimes they are full of temptation or risk.  While other times it was the road you should’ve taken or were “meant” to take all along.  That is, if you believe in that sort of thing.  But in the end the choice is up to you.

You can’t help but wonder what life throws your way and the lessons it teaches you or the ideas, thoughts, and choices it provokes you to contemplate.

I’m ending on that note, but if I come up with anything else to add I’ll definitely notify everyone.

Goodnight and I hope you liked what I had to say…

Sweet Dreams Love Katie

About DCKitty18

Aspiring Writer & Photographer, currently pursuing my dream of my own business. Add my personal page on Facebook: www.facebook.com/DCKitty or you can also find my pictures & writing on Facebook: www.facebook.com/PassionateFocus.MKO or see more of my photography at: www.flickr.com/PassionateFocus_MKO
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Do you ever miss someone?

  1. John Haviland says:

    I completely understand missing people. As you know I’m in Japan now away from everyone of my friends and family, and not to mention that one person that i want to spend the rest of my life with. You hit this one right on the nail. You’ve even inspired me to start writing my own blog about being here and what i go through. Keep up the great writing, and hopefully I’ll see you again later in life…. BTW I owe you lunch sometime

    • dckitty18 says:

      Hey John! So happy to see your comment! I’m glad you’re reading my blog so far away from home. It means the world to me that I inspired you to write more and to start your own blog. I’d love to read it! Please send me the link. I’d love to write a blog post about you and promote your blog as well. That is something that would make me happy. I miss you a lot but I’m happy you are seeing and experiencing the world. The love of your life will wait for you but who knows she might move to where you are. Happy Halloween and I hope to hear from you soon. I’m so excited to hear from you and can’t wait to read all about your journey. Talk to you soon…Love Katie xoxox

    • dckitty18 says:

      John, we will definitely do lunch be it the U.S. or maybe if I come visit Japan!!

      Love your sis KT

  2. Nav says:

    Katie, came across your Resume and found it very well written. And I’m sorry about your Grandmother. But I’d also like to comment that don’t regret anything. Don’t feel bad because you couldn’t make it to see her off at the last moment. Everything goes according to a plan in this world. You were not meant to be with her at that moment. This won’t change the way you feel about her. That love is transient through time, and will last forever.

    I had a similar experience with my Grandmother and coming across your blog, thought I’d just leave a couple of lines.

    cheers
    Nav

    P.S – Do you live around the DC area? I believe I might have seen you somewhere. I rarely forget faces.

    • dckitty18 says:

      Dear Nav,

      I was extremely surprised this morning by your comment. I just got home from working at the club in DC. I’m glad you found me and came across my writing. Where did you see my resume? I am always curious how people get connected in this world. It has always been one of the most fascinating things to me both in reality and via the internet.

      Thank you for your kind words. My Grandmother raised me as her own daughter so she was basically the only mother I’ve ever known, aside from my aunts. My birth mother was never around much until I turned 18. Losing her was as hard as losing a parent at a young age. Grandparents normally pass first, but she was always something more in my eyes. That day I felt I lost my Mother and I know I shouldn’t have regrets or feel bad, but in a way sharing my thoughts with the world helps me to lay them down. I guess in a way sharing this post with everyone I am trying to give myself peace. I know there was nothing I could do or change but it helped to share with everyone.

      In writing the post, I was hoping someone somewhere would read it and possibly change their mind or course of action. It’s funny because before my Grandmother passed my Aunt gave me a book for either Christmas or my Birthday. (Both close, my b-day is January 23) But the book she gave me was “For One More Day” by Mitch Albom. I received it a few short months before her passing and never really paid much attention to it, until I read one of his other books later that year called “Five People You Meet In Heaven.” Now I know these sound extremely religious, but growing up I was always on the humble side of religion. Anyways, I didn’t realize what book had been given to me until after her passing. So I often wonder what actions of mine would’ve changed before her passing.

      Luckily my senior year photography teacher in high school gave me a piece of advice the first time around when she got sick with breast cancer and colon cancer. He had lost his grandparents a few weeks before she was sick. He told me my assignment was to take as many rolls of film home and study my Grandmother. He told me to take as many pictures as I could possible get her to let me take. I followed his advice and it is one of THE BEST things anyone ever told me, or did for me. To this day, I cherish those pictures. Rolls and rolls of just her.

      So it definitely means alot that you took the time to comment and introduce yourself to me. It’s nice to hear from someone new out in the abyss.

      As for whether or not you know me, it is a high possibility. I grew up in Arlington, Va and have worked in the nightlife industry for the past 6 years. I have been a promoter and cashier for various night clubs. While at the same time you can find me bouncing around the DMV. Add me on facebook: http://www.facebook.com/DCKitty

      Thank you for taking the time to read, write, and listen.
      Love Katie

  3. Pingback: My Blog “What My Heart Says” 2010 Wordpress Review | What My Heart Says…By Monique "Katie" O'Donnell

Leave a Reply

