Diamonds in the Rough…of Wisdom

Dear Readers,

It has been some time since I have written a post for my blog, I guess you could say I fell off the face of the Earth.  I have been focusing so much on my life and working towards achieving my dreams, that I sort of neglected my blog a little.  But not as badly as I could’ve.  So that is a plus.  But I want to start making a commitment to myself and my readers to set a timeline for posting.  That way I will form the habit of posting to begin with at least, once a week.  As time passes I will slowly improve that habit and eventually post more than I had originally committed to.  So keep your eyes open because my mind is a tumultuous sea of thoughts and inspiration waiting to break free from the chains of my mind.

To start off my weekend right, I want to share with you some AMAZING quotes I have been encountering lately.  I haven’t the faintest idea how I have found so many diamonds in the rough, but I have definitely been blessed by God or coincidence.  I am not extremely religious, but I like to believe God has his ways of hinting.  And I can take the hint!

Love Katie

So here goes the diamonds in the rough of wisdom….

‎”Life is a series of pulls back and forth. You want to do one thing, but you are bound to do something else. Something hurts you, yet you know it shouldn’t. You take certain things for granted, even when you know you should never take anything for granted.”-Mitch Albom (Tuesdays with Morrie)

(IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE BOOK, YOU NEED TO READ IT BEFORE YOU DIE!!  NOW!  Before you’re a day older.  His pearls of wisdom for life are literally LIFE CHANGING.  By far one of my favorite books.  Plus it’s a quick and easy read!  So no excuses!)

“Coins make a sound when dropped, but paper bills won’t. Lesson: When your value increases, keep yourself silent and be humble.”
— Unknown

“The 3 C’s of life: choices, chances, and changes. You must make a choice to take a chance or your life will never change.”- Unknown

“You can’t do anything about the length of your life, but you can do something about its width and depth.” – Shira Tehrani

“A pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity; an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty.” – Winston Churchill
“You control your destiny, so work hard, follow your heart, & fight for your dreams. Don’t ever let anyone take them from you.” – Unknown

‎”Bravery is when you’re the only one that knows you’re afraid.” – Unknown

“If you fight hard and are determined to work just as hard, then you can be successful and change your destiny” 🙂 – Jimmy Ghrahm

‎”Life isn’t worth living unless you’re willing to take some big chances and go for broke.”
– Eliot Wiggington

“True character and heart speaks volumes.” -Unknown

“The most important thing in life is to learn how to give out love, and let it come in.” – Morrie Schwartz (Tuesdays with Morrie)

“Everything starts out as a dream…the difference is you make it a reality.” – Unknown

“You must have long-range goals to keep you from being frustrated by short-range failures.” -Charles C. Noble

“Life is like a snow globe, often it’s prettiest AFTER it’s been turned upside down.” -Unknown

“Think how different life would be if you had never met the one person who changed everything.” – Unknown

“When you’re different, sometimes you don’t see the millions of people who accept you for what you are.  All you notice is the one person who doesn’t.”  –Jodi Picoult

“DON’T make decisions when you’re angry and DON’T make promises when you’re happy.” – Unknown

“The ugliest personality trait…Selfishness.”-Unknown

“You can never make the same mistake twice, because the second time you make it, it’s not a mistake….it’s a choice.” – Unknown

“Sometimes you’ll never know the true value of a moment, until it becomes a memory.” -Unknown

“If it’s worth the risk then take the fall.” -Unknown

“If you can dream it, you can do it!.” -Walt Disney

“Don’t wait!  The time will never be just right.  So take a chance or miss out on possibly one of the best moments of your life.” -Unknown

“The darkest hours hold the brightest dreams.” -Unknown

“Never let love get away!  Always fight if they’re worth it!  Tell them everything from the bottom of your heart and if that’s not good enough, then be happy you gave it your all.” -My Grandfather

“If today were the last day of my life, would I want to do what I`m about to do today?” -Steve Jobs

“What would you do if you knew you could not fail?” -random Magazine

“Sometimes it is better to lose and do the right thing than to win and do the wrong thing.” -Tony Blair

“Business is like riding a bicycle.  Either you keep moving or you fall down.” – Frank Lloyd Wright

“If you obey all the rules, you miss all the fun.” – Katharine Hepburn

“Knowledge and productivity are like compound interest. The more you know, the more you learn; the more you learn, the more you can do; the more you can do, the more the opportunity. I don`t want to give you a rate, but it is a very high rate. Given two people with exactly the same ability, the one person who manages day in and day out to get in one more hour of thinking will be  tremendously more productive over a lifetime.”-Richard Hamming

“Always bear in mind, that your own resolution to succeed is more important than any other thing.”- Abraham Lincoln

“The difference between great people and everyone else is that great people create their lives actively, while everyone else is created by their lives, passively waiting to see where life takes them next. The difference between the two is the difference between living fully and just existing.”- Michael E. Gerber

“It is literally true that you can succeed best and quickest by helping others to succeed.”- Napoleon Hill

“Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work.”- Thomas A. Edison

“You miss a 100 percent of the shots you don’t take.”- Wayne Gretzky

“It is never too late to be what you might have been.”  – George Eliot

“If you always sail close to the shore, you`ll never discover new territories.” – Unknown

“No matter what, no matter how, where or who – you can almost always turn around and get a second chance.” -Anonymous

“It’s time to let go!  It will be ok.” -Anonymous

“You cannot solve a problem with the same mind that created it.” – Albert Einstein.

“Don`t treat every problem like a nail just because all you have is a hammer.” – Unknown

“The greatest wisdom comes from those experiments that fail.” – Unknown

“Don’t believe all of what you hear, spend all you have, or sleep all you want.” -Unknown

“Give people more than they expect and do it cheerfully.” -Unknown

“Talk slowly but think quickly.” -Unknown

“When you make the biggest mistake ever, something good comes from it.” -Unknown

“Get moving fast enough in life so that you can hydroplane over crap.” -Unknown  

“Don’t worry about what anybody else is going to do.  The best way to predict the future is to invent it.”  -Alan Kay

“Don’t judge each day by the harvest you reap but by the seeds you plant.” – Robert Louis Stevenson

“I have found that if you love life, life will love you back.” – Arthur Rubinstein

“The reason people find it so hard to be happy is that they always see the past better than it was, the present worse than it is, and the future less resolved than it will be.” – Marcel Pagnol

“A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” – Lao Tzu

“Don’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive and go do it. Because what the world needs is more people who have come alive.” – Howard Thurman

“I skate to where the puck is going to be, not where it has been.” – Wayne Gretzky

“Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional.” – Anonymous

“There are two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.” – Albert Einstein

“Uncertainty is the only certainty there is, and knowing how to live with insecurity is the only security.” – John Allen Paulos

“You are not in this world to live up to other people’s expectations, nor should you feel the world must live up to yours.” – F Perl

“We cannot change the cards we are dealt, just how we play the hand.” – Randy Pausch

“How you do one thing, is how you do everything. Be aware.” -Unknown

“Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.” – Helen Keller

“Life is not about kissing a**, it’s about kicking a**!” -Unknown

“The price of anything is the amount of life you exchange for it.” – Henry David Thoreau

“If you are irritated by every rub, how will you be polished?” – Rumi

“The harder you fall, the higher you bounce.” – Unknown.

“I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I’ve ended up where I needed to be.”  – Douglas Adams.

“Never be bullied into silence. Never allow yourself to be made a victim. Accept no one’s definition of your life; define yourself.” – Harvey Fierstein

“Your task is not to seek love, but to seek and find all the barriers within yourself that you have built against it.” – Rumi

“Happiness always sneaks in a door you did not think was open.” – Anonymous

“Stop pushing people away.  You have to learn to trust people.” -Back-up Plan movie

“The minute I heard my first love story, I started looking for you, not knowing how blind that was. Lovers don’t finally meet somewhere. They’re in each other all along.” – Rumi

“Don’t worry! Be happy!”

“My life has no purpose, no direction, no aim, no meaning, and yet I’m happy. I can’t figure it out. What am I doing right?” – Charles Schultz (probably chose happy)

“Happiness is a choice. Choose happy.” -Unknown

“You gain strength, courage and confidence by experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face.” – Eleanor Roosevelt.

“When we are no longer able to change a situation, we are challenged to change ourselves.” – Viktor Frankl

“Change is inevitable. Progress is optional.” – Tony Robbins

“A real apology is one that has no ‘buts’.”- Unknown

“Vision and passion can conquer ANY obstacle. You will never know your limits till you push yourself to them. Make your determination bigger than your excuses.” -Unknown

I can change my life at ANY time and any age. I can even run a marathon at 100. As can you.” – Unknown

“Be smart enough to hold on, be brave enough to let go. Sometimes, we need to hold onto faith while letting go of the outcome. Open your hand and hold your dreams gently, don’t try to grab them.” -Unknown

“If you’re going through hell, keep going.” – Winston Churchill.

“We must let go of the life we had planned so as to have the life that is waiting for us.” – Joseph Campbell.

“Dance like the photo’s not being tagged. Love like you’ve never been unfriended. Sing like nobody’s following. Share like you care. And do it all like it won’t end up on youtube!” -Unknown

 “”It’s impossible” said pride. “It’s risky” said experience. “It’s pointless” said reason. “Give it a try” whispered the heart.” – Anonymous

I hope you enjoyed this post, it has been a work in progress of the quotes that have touched my life most profoundly this past Fall and Winter.  May they inspire you and invoke change in your life, or maybe some comfort where once uneasy thoughts laid.

Thank you so much and if you have any life-changing quotes of your own feel free to contribute and comment below.  Looking forward to hearing from you.

Love Katie

About DCKitty18

Aspiring Writer & Photographer, currently pursuing my dream of my own business. Add my personal page on Facebook: www.facebook.com/DCKitty or you can also find my pictures & writing on Facebook: www.facebook.com/PassionateFocus.MKO or see more of my photography at: www.flickr.com/PassionateFocus_MKO
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Diamonds in the Rough…of Wisdom

  1. MoonsKnight says:

    Oh sweetheart… I love this post so much… I need to be better about updating my blog, too… Especially since I always feel like I have so much to say. A lot of those quotes are things that I have needed to hear for a long time, or things I already knew, but just need to remember.
    You’re amazing, I love you so much. I hope everything is okay, and don’t forget that I am here for you. You’re a great woman, and hit me up sometime soon so that we can get together and talk. Love ya!
    Dar~

    • dckitty18 says:

      Thanks Dar,

      I’m so happy you loved it. Sometimes in the middle of our crazy hectic lives we need reminders or new motivation. I guess that’s why they say motivation is needed to be reinforced daily. I’m glad to see I’m not the only one who needs to blog more. Maybe we can push eachother, every time we see a new post it’ll push the other to write a new one. Like a time check. Anytime you ever need some words of wisdom just search my blog or e-mail me and I will look for a bunch of quotes just to send to you. I’d love to take time out of my day to help a friend. Thank you for your kind, encouraging, and reassuring words…it helps more than you know. It means the world to me. Thank you for always being there for me and for being such a wise soul.

      Looking forward to more of your posts! Keep it up!!

      Love Katie

  2. I haven’t checked in here for a while since I thought it was getting boring, but the last few posts are great quality so I guess I’ll add you back to my daily bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

    • dckitty18 says:

      Dear Keith,

      Sorry for my lack of posting. Been going through alot and kind of got a little lost in life and different areas. But I am back to focus on my blog and hopefully I won’t bore you to death. I like a challenge. What posts did you like? If you don’t mind me asking.

      Thanks Love Katie

  3. Pingback: Are You Happy? | martinmahoney64

Leave a comment